Betclic becomes the official title sponsor of Liga Portugal in new deal

French online casino and sportsbook operator Betclic has secured an agreement to become the Official Title Sponsor of Liga Portugal. The deal, which is effective immediately, will see the top football league in Portugal renamed Liga Portugal Betclic until 2027.

Pedro Proença, President of Liga Portugal, said: “It is a privilege for Liga Portugal to associate with a market-leading brand such as Betclic. This partnership unequivocally demonstrates the high level of professional football in Portugal.”

“Brands like Betclic share our vision and, above all, our ambition for the growth of Portuguese professional football. We are proud that our top league will be called ‘Liga Portugal Betclic’ this season.”

The title sponsorship agreement also includes content and marketing possibilities, digital communications, and the rights to intellectual property. Betclic will have the opportunity to connect with fans through a series of activations throughout the partnership, a press release notes.

Ricardo Domingues, Head of International Markets at Betclic, said: “It is with great pride, and a sense of responsibility, that Betclic assumes its sponsorship of Liga Portugal – the main championship in the country, thus reaffirming our commitment to supporting football and national sport.

We believe that the combination of the potential of both parties, aligned with a common desire to develop the competition and reinforce our values, are factors that bring us closer together with the purpose of continuing to serve people, fans, athletes, clubs, organisations and sports agents – always for an increasingly better sport.”

This new sponsorship deal marks a significant step for Betclic, replacing Bwin as the title sponsor of Liga Portugal. Bwin had sponsored the league since the 2021-22 season, having also been the title sponsor between 2005 and 2008. 

The league went through name changes during Bwin’s previous sponsorship, being known as Liga from 2005 to 2006 and switching to Bwin Liga in 2006.